Local. Independent. Alternative.



Kerry Jackson
Radio From Hell

Bill Allred
Radio From Hell

Gina Barberi
Radio From Hell

Richie T Steadman
RFH Program Director

Jon Smith
Mid Day

Todd Nuke 'Em

Corey OBrien

Jordan De La Cruz
X96 Promotions Director

Jake Stone
Bathroom Attendant

Andrew Johnson

Time Wasters at Work


25 X96 Fall Music Suggestions Corey O'Brien |
09/30/2014 | Filed In: Radiohead | Jeff Buckley | Yeah Yeah Yeahs | Julian Casablancas | The Strokes | Alt-J | Alt J | Foo Fighters | Arcade Fire | Mando Diao | Death Cab for Cutie | Fleet Foxes | Perfume Genius | Interpol | Phantogram | Stars | Beck | Jenny Lewis | Smashing Pumpkins | Incubus | Young the Giant | Blood Orange | Reptile Youth | Spoon | Nine Inch Nails | Alkaline Trio | Joey Cape | Tony Sly

25 X96 Fall Music Suggestions

After last, Big Ass Show, Saturday one thing is clear: Summer is over. It's gone, baby. We are now in the season of reverence, thoughtfulness, self-reflection, warm beverages and too-soon festive decorations lining store shelves.

So, in the spirit of the changing leaves and chilly air I have assembled 25 songs that I think fit the season. It's probably not the cheeriest of playlists, but there is some great stuff here. Some of it you may know and some not so much. Some of the songs are new and some old. And yes, the list leans a little hipster - tis the season of scarfs, after all.

Feel free to leave some of your own suggestions in the comments.

(Note: This is a playlist, so hit play and let it roll).

1. Radiohead "How to Disappear Completely"

2. Yeah Yeah Yeahs "Skeletons"

3. Julian Casablancas of The Strokes "I'll Try Anything Once"

4. Jeff Buckley "Hallelujah"

5. Alt-J "Warm Foothills"

6. Arcade Fire "Rococo"

7. Mando Diao "How We Walk"

8. Foo Fighters "Walking After You"

9. Death Cab For Cutie "Cath"

10. Fleet Foxes "White Winter Hymnal"

11. Perfume Genius "Queen"

12. Interpol "My Blue Supreme"

13. Phantogram "The Day You Died"

14. Stars "In Our Bedroom After the War"

15. Beck "Waking Light"

16. Jenny Lewis and the Watson Twins "Melt Your Heart"

17. Smashing Pumpkins "To Shelia"

18. Young the Giant "Mind Over Matter"

19. Incubus "Stellar"

20. Blood Orange "It Is What It Is"

21. Reptile Youth "Shooting Up Sunshine"

22. Spoon "Let Me Be Mine"

23. Nine Inch Nails "The Great Below"

24. Alkaline Trio "Help Me"

25. Joey Cape and Tony Sly "International You Day"

-Corey O'Brien 


Alkaline Trio - In The Venue - *INTERVIEW* Magallanes90 | Promotion Director
05/30/2013 | Filed In: X96 | Postfontaine | Alkaline Trio | Bayside | June | 2013 | In The Venue | My Shame Is True

Alkaline Trio - In The Venue - *INTERVIEW*

Punk rockers Alkaline Trio will be out on tour this summer in support of their upcoming release, "My Shame Is True." See them perform live with guests Bayside June 5th at In The Venue!

Date: 2013-06-05 Time: 8:00 PM Ticket Price: $18.50 Adv/$22 Day Of

Special Information: On Sale: March 18 @ 12pm. All ages show.

For tickets: CLICK HERE!


Matt Skiba (of Alkaline Trio) calls into the X96 studio for an interview with Richie T before their concert at In The Venue on June 5th!




Alkaline Trio "I Wanna Be A Warhol" Magallanes90 | Promotion Director
02/05/2013 | Filed In: Alkaline Trio | I Wanna Be A Warhol | Enter To Win |

Alkaline Trio


Cult punk rock heroes, Alkaline Trio return on April 2nd with My Shame Is True, their most dynamic album to date. In anticipation of the release, the band have debuted a brand new single “I Wanna Be Warhol” from the forthcoming album.

Enter to win an official 4 set Alkaline Trio Soup Cans & Lithograph photo collector set!

Name: Email: DOB: Phone #:


Fans can purchase “I Wanna Be A Warhol” on iTunes and check it out via YouTube

I Wanna Be A Warhol - Lyrics I wanna be a little piece of history, let’s go I wanna be a painting for all to see, let’s go Take a trip, take a big hand full of these and swallow Just a headache, a fuzzy memory tomorrow I wanna be a Warhol hanging on your wall You down there looking up at me I wanna be a Warhol displayed on your wall Hung up there staring back at you Staring back at you Give me a taste of your misery, let’s go Won’t you please come play chemistry and sorrow I can’t believe anything that you’re telling me, let’s go The walls are closing in and melting nice and slow I wanna be a Warhol hanging on your wall You down there looking up at me I wanna be a Warhol displayed on your wall Hung up and staring back at you Staring back at you I wanna be a Warhol hanging on your wall Staring down at you I wanna be a Warhol displayed on your wall Still hung up on you (3x)  

Recorded with Bill Stevenson of punk legends The Descendents and Black Flag and with Jason Livermore at the producers’ Blasting Room Studios in Colorado, My Shame Is True pushes the band into new musical terrain while embracing their classic Trio sound. The album contains 40 minutes of passionate punk-filled rock that showcases guitarist/vocalist Matt Skiba, bassist/vocalist Dan Andriano and drummer Derek Grant at their absolute best.

"We're very proud of it,” says Matt Skiba. “Once we got in the studio, the songs really took on a shape of their own.” From the album’s first melodic opener “She Lied To The FBI” to the first single, “ I Wanna Be A Warhol” the Trio waste no time setting the tone for their energetic, hook-filled, eighth studio album. For the first time ever on an Alkaline Trio record, My Shame Is True finds a guest appearance from Rise Against’s Tim Mcllarth on rousing punk rock anthem, “I , Pessimist”, while songs like “I’m Only Here to Disappoint” and album closer, “Till Death Do Is Part” remind fans of classic Trio, with stellar song-writing and catchy choruses. "It's never been about being rich or famous,” continues Skiba. “We always wanted to have the band be our career… to have that longevity… that should be the goal. We are going to do it until it stops being fun. If it ever feels like a job, why would you be involved in the arts at all? We have the right chemistry as a band and with crowds, big or small. We have community within a community.” My Shame Is True will be available for pre-order via Epitaph starting today at www.alkalinetriostore.com. The pre-order will also include a limited pressing (2,000 copies worldwide) of their Broken Wing 12'' EP with 4 songs that are not available on the standard album. In addition, 500 Limited Edition Vinyl Box sets are available and include exclusive colors of vinyl for the LP & EP, a fold out spirit board, cut wood game - piece, 46” flag, patch and shirt all in a lined wood box. As a perfect gift for vinyl fans, collectors, and Trio fanatics alike, the LP Box Set is limited edition. Alkaline Trio first emerged from Chicago in 1996 and has since released eight full length studio albums Goddamnit, Maybe I'll Catch Fire, From Here To Infirmary, Good Mourning, Crimson, Agony & Irony , 2010’s This Addiction which reached #11 on Billboard 200 and Damnesia, which features a selection of beloved fan favorites selected from the group’s extensive catalogue and presented in an intimate-semi unplugged format. Stay tuned to www.epitaph.com for album and tour information.

CD Track Listing: 1. She Lied To The FBI - 2:48 2. I Wanna Be A Warhol - 3:07 3. I'm Only Here To Disappoint - 2:46 4. Kiss You To Death - 3:21 5. The Temptation Of St. Anthony - 3:34 6. I, Pessimist - 2:10 7. Only Love - 4:35 8. The Torture Doctor - 3:37 9. Midnight Blue - 2:44 10. One Last Dance - 3:28 11. Young Lovers - 3:31 12. Until Death Do Us Part - 4:13  



Useful Links:
Utah Car Deals

X96 (KXRK)
50 W. Broadway, Suite 200
Salt Lake City, UT 84101

Terms of Use | EEO Report | Jobs | Copyright Policy | Privacy Policy | General Contest Rules  |  Copyright © 2010 - 2014 KXRK & Broadway Media